Guinness Storehouse Exterior

The MMM2014 conference and associated Winter School and VBS 2014 will take place at the Guinness Storehouse, which is located in the heart of the St. James’s Gate Brewery in Dublin city centre. The Guinness Storehouse and is Ireland’s No. 1 international visitor attraction, attracting over 4 million visitors since 2000. Specifically the conference will take place in the Arthur Guinness Business Centre, within the storehouse, which is a modern and stylish conference centre, with award winning architectural design, partnered with unique rooms and facilities, provides an ideal atmosphere to host the workshop sessions.

Guinness Storehouse Interior

The Storehouse was originally built in 1904 to house the Guinness fermentation process. This incredible building was constructed in the style of the Chicago school of architecture, with massive steel beams providing the support for the structure of the building. The Storehouse building housed the fermentation of Guinness beer until 1988. The Storehouse is laid out over seven floors surrounding a glass atrium taking the shape of a pint of Guinness. On the ground floor the massive exhibit introduces you to the four ingredients; water, barley, hops and yeast, all of which combine together to make a pint of Guinness.

There will be a welcome reception on the 7th January 2014 at the Guinness Storehouse in a private opening of the visitor centre and the Gravity Bar (Dublin’s best Guinness serving venue) which has panoramic views over the city.

The conference banquet and cultural experience will take place on the evening of the 9th January at the wonderful Smock Alley Theatre (Dublin’s oldest theatre). Smock Alley was the first Theatre Royal built in Dublin. It was opened in 1662 as the first custom-built theatre in the city and still remains in substantially the same form, making it one of the most important sites in European theatre history. Smock Alley was the first theatre outside London to receive the title of Theatre Royal, but because it had been built on land reclaimed from the Liffey, the building was unstable and the gallery collapsed twice; it was rebuilt in 1735. For more than a century, Smock Alley put Irish theatre on the European map and it remained open until 1787 when it become first a whiskey store and then a church. The theatre reopened in 2012 as the oldest newest theatre in Ireland and is considered to be one of the best places in Dublin to spend a cultural evening out.